English has one alphabet…and here is how…

Did you know some learners still think English language has 26 alphabets?

If you’re one of them, here is what you need to know:

The English language has 26 letters but just one alphabet. An alphabet is a set of language letters arranged in a fixed order. Thus, A-Z is the English alphabet, i.e. the 26 letters are altogether called alphabet.

This is different from the Japanese language has three writing systems, namely Kanji, Hiragana, Katakana. Each system has its writing style and letters, making it more complicated than English.

Now that you know…

2 thoughts on “English has one alphabet…and here is how…

  1. Anonymous says:

    Are you saying Japanese has 4 alphabets?

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: